Gender Equity Council


Gender Equality symbols

The Department of Medicine Gender Equity Council (GEC) advises the Department Chair on matters related to gender equity, makes recommendations to ensure an equitable and inclusive environment in the department, and plans and implements activities that promote gender equity.

GEC logo
This is unpublished


The Gender Equity Council was formed in 2020 by Dr. Barbara Jung, the first female chair of the Department of Medicine in its more than 70-year history.

The inaugural co-chairs were Dr. Susan Merel and Stephanie Timm. 

“I am thrilled to be involved in the inaugural Gender Equity Council and very honored to be asked to help lead it,” said Dr. Susan Merel, inaugural co-chair. “I hope to work closely with the Diversity Council and LGBTQ+ Council to help build a more equitable Department of Medicine.”

“The GEC will be working on finding ways to support, retain, and provide opportunities for career advancement and leadership training for women and gender minorities,” said inaugural co-chair Steph Timm.

“We will be examining conditions of employment such as compensation and work environment, creating best practices for recruitment, identifying and seeking solutions related to the support of employees with families, increasing the visibility and accessibility of women and gender minorities, and working with the LGBTQ+ Council to develop strategies for creating a safe, diverse, and inclusive workplace for LGBTQ+ employees.”

GEC Members


Nisha Bansal

Nisha Bansal

Professor, Nephrology
Arthur Stach Family Endowed Professor
Director, Clinical and Research Education
Director, Kidney Heart Service, University of Washington

Shoshana Hague

Shoshana Hague

AHR Manager
Department of Medicine


Standing Members

  • Sam Caldwell, Agreements Manager, Department of Medicine (2022)
  • Başak Çoruh, Associate Professor, Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine (2022)
  • Amy Fields, Director of Communications, Department of Medicine (2021)
  • Sara Glick, Associate Professor, Allergy and Infectious Diseases (2024)
  • Anna Golob, Assistant Professor, General Internal Medicine (2024)
  • Jocelyn James, Assistant Professor, General Internal Medicine (2023)
  • Niambi Kanye, Human Resources Manager, Nephrology (2024)
  • Farah Khan, Clinical Associate Professor, Metabolism, Endocrinology and Nutrition (2021)
  • Elizabeth Krakow, Associate Professor, Hematology and Oncology (2024)
  • Jeffrey Krimmel-Morrison, Clinical Instructor, General Internal Medicine (2024)
  • Nina Lamble, Clinical Assistant Professor, Hematology and Oncology
  • Leah Marcotte, Assistant Professor, General Internal Medicine (2023)
  • Radhika Narla, Associate Professor, Metabolism, Endocrinology and Nutrition (2024)
  • Lisa Perdue, Administrative Assistant, Gastroenterology (2023)
  • Salpy Pamboukian, Professor, Cardiology (2024)
  • Namrata Singh, Assistant Professor, Rheumatology (2023)
  • Lisa Vig, Associate Professor, Gerontology and Geriatric Medicine (2023)
  • Maggie Walker, Teaching Associate, Gastroenterology (2024)
  • Kate Weaver, Clinical Associate Professor, Metabolism, Endocrinology and Nutrition (2024)

Ex-Officio Members

  • Sean Greenlee, Program Manager, DEI
  • David Horne, Associate Professor, Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine; Associate Chair for DEI
  • Cynthia Ko, Associate Professor, Gastroenterology; Associate Chair for Faculty Affairs
  • Trish Kritek, Professor, Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine; Associate Dean, Faculty Affairs, School of Medicine
  • Susan Merel, Associate Professor, General Internal Medicine
  • Jackie Monroe, Director, Academic Human Resources, Department of Medicine


Gender Equity Awards

Recognizing and celebrating individuals who are dedicated to supporting the success of women and gender minorities.

learn more

Ambassador Program

Our Gender Equity Ambassadors act as champions for gender equity in the department.

learn more

Lunch Series

Provides a space for informal, open dialogue on real issues that women and gender minorities face in the workplace and beyond.

learn more