DOM OutList

Pride flag

The DOM LGBTQ+ Council has initiated a department-wide “Out List” to better enable us to promote visibility and foster community for LGBTQ+ folks within the Department of Medicine, as well as enable students, staff, trainees, and faculty to identify LGTBQ+ members with similar interests and offer readily available contact information.

Join the OutList
This is unpublished

Extended OutList

Members of the UW community are able to join our extended OutList on the Department of Medicine Intranet. 

Out List 

Anthony Back

Anthony Back, MD

Professor, Hematology and Oncology

Pronouns: He/him
Email: tonyback@uw.edu

Jared Baeten

Jared Baeten, MD, PhD

Professor, Allergy and Infectious Diseases

Pronouns: He/him
Email: jbaeten@uw.edu

learn more
Shiv Bhandari

Shiv Bhandari, MD

Chief Medicine Resident

Pronouns: He/Him/His
Identities: Gay
Specialties/Interests: Education, Critical Care
Email: shivb@uw.edu

learn more
Lauren Carpenter

Lauren Carpenter, MD

Clinical Assistant Professor, Gerontology and Geriatric Medicine

Pronouns: She/Her
Specialties/Interests: VA geriatrics & palliative care
Email: laureliz@uw.edu

learn more
Adam Cheng

Adam Cheng, MD

Fellow, Hematology and Oncology

Pronouns: He/him
Identities: Gay
Specialties/Interests: Basic science research in viral oncogenesis
Email: azcheng@uw.edu

He/him
 
learn more
Michael Deng

Michael Deng, MD

Clinical Instructor, General Internal Medicine

Pronouns: He/him, They/them
Identities: queer, nonbinary
Email: mzdeng@uw.edu

learn more
Steve Disharoon

Steven Disharoon, MD

Clinical Assistant Professor, General Internal Medicine

Pronouns: He/him

learn more
Jim Drechsler

Jim Drechsler, PA-C, MHA

Physician Assistant, Hematology and Oncology

Pronouns: He/him
Identities: Gay
Email: jdrechsl@seattlecca.org 

learn more
Corinne Heinen

Corinne Heinen, MD

Clinical Professor, Allergy and Infectious Diseases

Pronouns: She/her
Identities: Lesbian, cisgender
Specialties/Interests: Primary care, UW Medicine Transgender & Gender Non-Binary Health Program, UWSOM LGBTQ Health Pathway
Email: cheinen@uw.edu

learn more
Mack Holmberg

Mack Holmberg, MD

Chief Medicine Resident

Pronouns: He/him
Identities: Gay, cisgender
Specialties/Interests: Primary care and medical education
Email: mackhh@uw.edu

learn more
Mary Horan

Mary P Horan, MD

Emeritus Clinical Associate Professor, Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine

Pronouns: She/her
Email: horanm@uw.edu

learn more
Chi Hung

Chi F. Hung, MD

Assistant Professor, Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine

Pronouns: He/him
Email: cfhung@uw.edu

learn more
Sylvia Lacourse

Sylvia LaCourse MD, MPH

Associate Professor, Allergy & Infectious Diseases

Pronouns: She/her
Specialties/Interests: infectious diseases, HIV, TB, pregnancy
Email: sylvial2@uw.edu

learn more
placeholder

Darlin Lozano

LGBTQ+ Program Manager, Transgender and Gender Non-Binary Health Program/Office of Healthcare Equity

Pronouns: She/Her
Identities: Queer, Latinx
Email: darlinbl@uw.edu

learn more
Kat McGhee Drummond

Kat McGhee Drummond, MPA

Program Manager, Office of Faculty Affairs, School of Medicine

Pronouns: She/her
Email: kmcghee@uw.edu

learn more
placeholder

Emily Marre, MD

Clinical Instructor, General Internal Medicine

Pronouns: She/her
Identities: lesbian, cisgender
Email: emarre@uw.edu

learn more
Darrell Owens

Darrell Owens, DNP, MHA

Clinical Associate Professor, Palliative Care Medicine

Pronouns: He/him
Specialties/Interests: Palliative care
Email: Owensd@uw.edu

Brad Rolf

Brad Rolf, MS, CGC

Assistant Teaching Professor, Medical Genetics

Pronouns: He/him
Identities: Gay, cisgender, white
Specialties/Interests: Genetic counseling for LGBTQ+ patients
Email: barolf@uw.edu

learn more
Jeffrey Schouten

Jeffrey Schouten, MD, JD, AAHIVE

Clinical Associate Professor Emeritus, Allergy & Infectious Diseases

Pronouns: He/him
Identities: Gay 
Specialties/Interests: HIV and HIV-related malignancies
Email: schouten@uw.edu

learn more
Peter Shalit

Peter Shalit, MD, PhD

Clinical Professor, Allergy and Infectious Diseases

Pronouns: He/him
Identities: Gay male
Specialties/Interests: LGBTQ primary care, HIV prevention and treatment
Email: peter@tribalmed.com

learn more
placeholder

Kayla Sheridan, MD

Clinical Instructor, General Internal Medicine

Pronouns: She/her
Email: kadele@uw.edu

learn more
placeholder

Devin Shen, MD

Internal Medicine Resident (2024)

Pronouns: He/him
Email: devshen@uw.edu

learn more