Violet Zuvela Primary Care IM Scholarship Award

The Violet Zuvela Primary Care IM Scholarship award was created in 2017 by the generosity of the late Violet Zuvela, who was a patient of Dr. Douglas Paauw, director of Medicine Student Programs.

Violet Zuvela
This is unpublished

Violet graduated in 1972 from the University of Washington with a bachelor’s degree in French and worked at the University of Washington Medical Center as a budget analyst, retiring in 1992. 

She was known for her love and support of young people, and famous for her annual Halloween decor.  

Past recipients


Sarah Lawrence
Astrid Strasik


Stephanie Banning
Katie Hawkins
Nathan McLaughlin


Rachael Carricaburu
Bhavatharini "Rini" Kasinathan
Adrian Lena


David Chen
Roxanne Hicks


Cara Saxon
Nika Sulakvelidze
Hasib Yousufzai


Cheyenne Enevold