Marvin Turck Outstanding Teaching Award

The Marvin Turck Outstanding Teaching Award is a career achievement award to honor individuals whose long-term contributions have defined departmental standards for patient care and teaching and made the University of Washington an outstanding educational institution.

Dr. Marvin Turck
About Dr. Turck
This is unpublished


Named for Dr. Marvin Turck, whose energy, enthusiastic teaching, remarkable clinical knowledge, humor, and support for students, housestaff, fellows, and faculty have inspired trainees and faculty for decades. 


  • One recipient per year
  • Faculty who have made outstanding career contributions that have enhanced the traditions of teaching and patient care in the University of Washington Department of Medicine.


The nomination should consist of a maximum 2-page letter in 11-pt Arial font. Please send nominations to Dr. Conrad Liles. Past award recipients are not eligible.

Past recipients

2024  Leah Haseley
2019  John Thompson
2018  Erika Goldstein
2017  David Spach
2016  Karen Stout
2015  Nancy Sugg
2014  Bradley Anawalt
2013  Robert Harrington
2012  Steven R. McGee
2011  Virginia C. Broudy
2010  David J. Pierson
2009  Michael K. Copass
2008  Jan V. Hirschmann
2007  John V.L. Sheffield
2006  Douglas S. Paauw
2005  Bruce C. Gilliland
2004  W. Patrick Fleet

(Note: No awards were presented from 2020-2023)