Fialkow Scholars Award

The Fialkow Award honors the late UW Dean of Medicine and Chair of Medicine Dr. Philip Fialkow and his wife, the late Helen Fialkow, and recognizes the outstanding achievements of junior faculty in medicine in research, teaching, clinical work, and academic citizenship.

Dr. Philip Fialkow
About Dr. Fialkow
This is unpublished

The award includes $15,000 to support scholarly activities, and each Fialkow Scholar presents at Medicine Grand Rounds during the fall quarter.


  • Faculty member with a primary appointment in the Department of Medicine
  • Assistant or research assistant professor (acting faculty are not eligible)
  • Physician/scientist, clinician/scholar and research tracks are eligible


  • Nominating letter (no longer than 2-3 pages) documenting excellence in scholarship
  • Current CV and bibliography
  • Names of two additional faculty whom the selection committee can contact regarding the nominee
  • Optional: two copies of reprints of two best publications


  • Call for applications: January/February
  • Nomination deadline: March
  • Awards announced: May

Past recipients

2023  Rachel Bender Ignacio
2022  Andrew Stergachis
2021  Joshua Hill
2020  Benjamin Freedman
2019  Ajai Dandekar
2018  Sergei Doulatov
2017  Aude Chapuis and Julia Dombrowski
2016  Nisha Bansal and Cameron Turtle
2015  Matthias Stephan
2014  Mohamed Sorror
2013  Joshua Thaler
2012  Vivian Oehler and Joanne Stekler
2011  Ian H. de Boer and Nona Sotoodehnia
2010  Geoffrey S. Gottlieb
2009  Bryan Kestenbaum
2008  Thomas R. Hawn
2007  Elizabeth A. Phelan
2006  Robert K. Ernst and Francis Kim
2005  Ajit P. Limaye
2004  John K. Amory and Frederick S. Buckner
2003  Cassian Yee
2002  Jonathan G. Drachman
2001  David E. Cummings
2000  Anna Wald
1999  J. Randall Curtis
1998  W. Conrad Liles
1997  Marshall Horwitz