Meet the leaders who support the Department's mission and vision.

Dr. William Bremner

Department Chair

In 1998, Dr. William Bremner, who had been vice chair of the department since 1987, became the fifth chair of the Department of Medicine. A graduate of Harvard University and the UW School of Medicine, where he also completed residency and fellowship training, Dr. Bremner earned a PhD from Monash University.

Vice Chairs

Bradley Anawalt, MD

Bradley D. Anawalt, MD

Professor, Department of Medicine
Chief of Medicine, University of Washington Medical Center

Dr. Virginia Broudy

Virginia C. Broudy, MD

The Scripps Endowed Professor in Hematology
Chief of Medicine, Harborview Medical Center

Dr. Rudy Rodriguez

Rudy Rodriguez, MD

Professor of Medicine
Chief of Medicine, VA Puget Sound Health Care System

Associate Chairs

Thomas Gallagher, MD

Thomas Gallagher, MD

Associate Chair for Patient Care Quality Improvement, Safety and Value
Professor of Medicine

Dr. W. Conrad Liles

W. Conrad Liles, MD, PhD

Associate Chair for Research
Professor of Medicine

Program Directors

Dr. Douglas Paauw

Douglas S. Paauw, MD

Director, Medicine Student Programs
Professor of Medicine

Dr. Kenneth Steinberg

Kenneth P. Steinberg, MD

Director, Internal Medicine Residency Program
Professor of Medicine