The Chair of Medicine Scholars Awards, initiated in 2013, are awarded annually to meritorious University of Washington Department of Medicine trainees to foster their transition to the roles of physician-scientist and principal investigator.

Each award offers $50,000 per year for two years in salary support to facilitate the transition to appointment as a junior faculty member. 


  • Research/academic excellence and potential for career as independent PI (physician-scientist)
  • University of Washington-based trainees to be appointed as physician-scientists at the rank of assistant professor

Submission guidelines

  • Nomination letter from Division Head addressing:
    • Accomplishments and credentials of the nominee to date
    • Potential for the nominated individual to develop a successful research career as a PI
    • Divisional commitment to and support for the nominee (not to exceed 3 pages, Arial 11-pt font)
  • Personal statement from nominee (not to exceed 3 pages, Arial 11-pt font) addressing:
    • Research accomplishments to date
    • Future research plans
    • Short- and long-term career goals
    • Plans for applying for grants¬†
  • Nominee CV (UW format)


  • Nominations: March
  • Awards announced: May
  • Funding starts: July 1

Past recipients

Pavan Bhatraju
Ang Li
Rena Patel

Sylvia LaCourse

Angela Hanson
Pandora Lucrezia "Luke" Wander

Chi Hung
Javeed Shah

Helen Chu
Fabiana Ostronoff
Baback Roshanravan

James Floyd
Carmen Mikacenic
Seth Pollock
Alison Roxby

Katya Rubinow
Chetan Seshadri