Dr. William Bremner. Photo by Gavin Sisk.
Dr. William Bremner

Recognizing that mentorship is critical to success across all phases of faculty’s careers in academic medicine, the Department of Medicine established the Mentorship Awards in 2015 honor faculty members for their contribution to the scientific, educational, and patient care mission of the department through exemplary mentorship.

Two awards are given annually, one for Excellence in Mentorship of Physician/Scientists and one for Excellence in Mentorship of Clinician/Scholars. 

The endowment was created and the name changed in 2018 to commemorate and express appreciation to Dr. William Bremner for his legendary wisdom, vision, coaching and sponsorship that fostered countless trainees and faculty in pursuing their passion and in reaching their ultimate potential.


Two recipients per year (P/S and C/S). More detailed criteria


Call for nominations in January, presented in March.

Past recipients


Jonathan Himmelfarb, Excellence in Mentoring Physician/Scientists
Stephanie Page, Excellence in Mentoring Clinician/Scholars


Edward Boyko, Excellence in Mentoring Physician/Scientists
Patricia Kritek, Excellence in Mentoring Clinician/Scholars


Kristina Crothers, Excellence in Mentoring Physician/Scientists
Joyce Wipf, Excellence in Mentoring Clinician/Scholars


Rosemarie Fernandez, Excellence in Mentoring Clinician/Scholars
Oliver Press, Excellence in Mentoring Physician/Scientists


Matthew Golden, Excellence in Mentoring Physician/Scientists
Mark Tonelli, Excellence in Mentoring Clinician/Scholars