The ‘Outstanding Consultant of the Month Award’ began in 2015 as a recognition program for consultants (individuals or services). 

These awards recognize our best consultants within the Department of Medicine and from other clinical departments at the University of Washington Medical Center (UWMC) for exhibiting excellence in these areas:

  • Quality of recommendations
  • Communicating personally with the primary care team to share recommendations and to discuss the care plan
  • Quality and clarity of education for primary patient care team
  • Timeliness of recommendations and documentation
  • Working in collaboration with the primary team, the patient, and other consultants
  • Quality and clarity of patient education

How do I nominate a consultant?

Anyone can fill out one of the recognition forms (located at the Nurses’ desks of 6NE and 6SE):  medical students, residents or fellows, faculty attendings, patients, patients’ family members, nurses, pharmacists, physical therapists, or other professional staff.

Award recipients


Sarah McGuffin (Allergy and Infectious Diseases)
Ali Khaki (Hematology-Oncology)
Brittany Frankel (Rheumatology)
David Evans (Family Medicine)
George Banks (Neurology)
Benjamin Dean (Neurology)


Michael Crowder (Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine)
Richard Ellenbogen (Neurological Surgery)
William Shuman (Radiology)
Jon Keller (Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine)
Logan Vincent (Cardiology)
Cristina Merkhofer (Hematology-Oncology)
Lindsay Collins (General Internal Medicine)
Katy Flynn-O’Brien (General Surgery)
Dave Wenger (General Internal Medicine)


Jacob Appelbaum (General Internal Medicine)
Selma Carlson (Cardiology)
Lindsay Collins (Metabolism, Endocrinology and Nutrition)
Dermot Fitzgibbon (Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine)
Alex Heaton (Neuroradiology)
Hematology consult
Sharukh Lokhandwala (Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine)
Caitlin May (Dermatology)
Raymond Michael Meyer (Neurosurgery)
Sophia Swanson (Gastroenterology)
Surgery A Consult Team
Jerry Zifodya (Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine)


Anna Brady (Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine)
Giana Davidson (Department of Surgery)
Jonathan Golob (Allergy & Infectious Diseases)
Margot Herman (Gastroenterology)
Shweta Jain (Hematology)
Sid Kapnadak (Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine)
Kate Kearney (Cardiology)
Sioban Keel (Hematology)
Peter Leary (Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine)
Ang Li (Oncology)
Ajit Limaye (Allergy & Infectious Diseases)
Jim Boonyaratanakornkit (Allergy & Infectious Diseases)
Eric Monroe (Department of Radiology)
Aliza Monroe-Wise (Allergy & Infectious Diseases)
Cary Paine (Nephrology)
Pulmonary Team
Joey Roberts (Gastroenterology)
Jess Salk (Hematology)
Richard Tobin (Gastroenterology)