The Faculty Code provides for the organization and functioning of the University's faculty. Established in 1956, it is the framework for shared governance at the UW. 

Faculty Governance

The UW faculty lobbied for a system of shared governance between faculty and administration, rather than union representation. This shared governance is comprised of three bodies:

  1. Faculty Senate
  2. Secretary of the faculty
  3. University faculty councils

Together these bodies legislate regulations regarding faculty appointments, promotions, tenure, and all other academic personnel actions that make up the faculty code.